Survey: Help us help you!

We value your feedback and would love to hear about your experience with the Government of Canada Publications website. We invite you to take part in our short and anonymous survey.

Survey: Help us help you!

We value your feedback and would love to hear about your experience with the Government of Canada Publications website. We invite you to take part in our short and anonymous survey.

Start survey

Frequently Asked Questions

If you are unable to find the information you are looking for on these pages, feel free to Contact Us directly with your questions.

Why is there an archived content notice on all electronic publications?

Publishing and Depository Services Directorate catalogues, organises and provides access to a centralized and permanent collection of Government of Canada publications. Authoring departments are the authority related to their published materials. As a result, all publications available on our Web site are copies and therefore considered as archival regardless of the date of publication. We are dependent on author departments to provide us with new editions but have no way to authenticate the status of each title. We therefore apply a blanket archival statement to all publications on our site.

Why am I unable to place an order?

As of April 1st, 2014 we have discontinued printing, distributing, warehousing and selling print format publications and have transitioned to an exclusively electronic environment.

Why have you transitioned to an exclusively electronic environment?

Public Works and Government Services Canada’s transition from print to electronic was outlined in Annex 1: Responsible Spending of the 2012 Federal Budget Plan.

The 2012 Budget and Publishing and Depository Services notice was also placed on our website to advise clients how the 2012 Federal Budget Plan would affect Publishing and Depository Services.

Will the Government of Canada continue to offer print publications?

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat has made electronic publishing the new standard for Government of Canada publications. Publications related to health, safety and security may continue to be made available in print formats by author departments and agencies.

For additional information, we invite you to consult the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat notice Government of Canada Moves to E-Printing .

What types of electronic formats are available on your website?

We currently collect publications in electronic portable formats only. These include Portable Document Format (PDF) and EPUB. Publication formats are selected by the author departments, and as new formats become available, we will add them to our collection.

For additional information on formats, we invite you to consult the alternative formats section on our website.

What will become of print publications that are not offered in an electronic format?

We recognize that some publications were only published in print format. Publishing and Depository Services is overseeing the digitization of a vast collection of print publications which will become available in electronic format on our website.

Where may I obtain or consult print format publications?

Some publications which were previously distributed by our program may still be in circulation in print format. Should you wish to consult these items, we suggest that you check your local bookstore or library. The author department or agency may also be able to assist you in obtaining a print copy. Please consult the list of Department and Agency Publication Web Pages where you may select the department name and navigate to their site.

Why is the publication I have located in your catalogue not available in electronic format?

Publishing and Depository Services acquires and catalogues publications received by author departments and agencies in all formats provided. If an electronic version of the publication in question was provided to us by the author department, there will be a link to it in the publication record. However, it is important to note that some publications were only published in print format.

Will Publishing and Depository Services continue to acquire, catalogue and expand its collection of Government of Canada electronic publications?

Publishing and Depository Services is the central repository of Government of Canada publications in portable electronic formats. We will continue to acquire, catalogue and expand our collection.

Will Publishing and Depository Services continue to maintain the catalogue records of older print publications?

Catalogue records for print publications both past and current will be maintained in our catalogue for reference purposes only.

Why can’t I find the electronic edition of the publication I have found in your catalogue?

Not all of our catalogue records provide access to electronic publications. Be sure to check the information given next to the label “Format” to see whether a particular record is for a publication in print format. As we do not maintain a physical collection of publications, this catalogue record has been created for reference purposes only. If an electronic edition of the publication has been catalogued then you will be able to access it through a link provided next to the heading “Other Formats”.

Should I notify Publishing and Depository Services if I find a broken link within an electronic publication hosted on your website?

Publications found in the Government of Canada catalogue have been archived and made available for reference purposes only. Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Publishing and Depository Services does not amend, update or otherwise alter the content of any of the publications hosted and made available in our catalogue.

Sondage: Aidez-nous à vous aider!

Nous aimerions obtenir votre rétroaction au sujet du site Web des publications du gouvernement du Canada. Nous vous invitons à remplir notre bref sondage anonyme.

Sondage: Aidez-nous à vous aider!

Nous aimerions obtenir votre rétroaction au sujet du site Web des publications du gouvernement du Canada. Nous vous invitons à remplir notre bref sondage anonyme.

Débuter le sondage

Foire aux questions

Si vous êtes incapable de trouver l'information que vous cherchez sur ces pages, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter directement avec vos questions.

Pourquoi y’a-t-il un avis de contenu archivé sur toutes les publications électroniques?

La Direction des Éditions et Services de dépôt catalogue, organise et fournit l’accès à une collection permanente et centrale des publications du gouvernement du Canada. Les ministères auteurs ont l’autorité en ce qui concerne leur matériel publié. De ce fait, toutes les publications disponibles sur notre site Web sont des copies et sont considérées comme des archives, peu importe la date de publication. Nous dépendons des ministères auteurs pour recevoir de nouvelles éditions mais n’avons aucune façon d’authentifier le statut de chaque titre. Nous appliquons donc une déclaration générale de contenu archivé à toutes les publications sur notre site.

Pourquoi suis-je incapable de commander?

Depuis le 1er avril 2014, nous avons cessé l’impression, la distribution, l’entreposage et la vente des publications en format imprimé et avons fait la transition vers un environnement électronique seulement.

Pourquoi avez-vous fait la transition vers un environnement exclusivement électronique?

La transition de l’imprimé vers l’électronique de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada a été mentionnée dans l’Annexe 1 : Gestion responsable des dépenses du Plan budgétaire fédéral de 2012.

L’avis suivant Le Budget 2012 et Éditions et Services de dépôt a aussi été placé sur notre site Web pour aviser nos clients sur comment le Plan budgétaire fédéral de 2012 affecterait Éditions et Services de dépôt.

Est-ce que le gouvernement du Canada continuera d’offrir des publications imprimées?

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a fait l’édition électronique la nouvelle norme pour les publications du gouvernement du Canada. Les publications ayant liées à la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité peuvent continuer à être disponibles en format imprimé par les ministères et organismes.

Pour de l’information additionnelle, nous vous invitons à consulter l’avis Le gouvernement du Canada adopte l’édition électronique du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Quels types de formats électroniques sont disponibles sur votre site Web?

Actuellement, nous faisons seulement la collecte des publications en format électronique portable. Cela inclut les formats PDF et EPUB. Les formats des publications sont choisis par les ministères auteurs et quand de nouveaux formats seront disponibles, nous les ajouterons à notre collection.

Pour plus d’information sur les formats, nous vous invitons à consulter la section Formats de rechange sur notre site Web.

Qu’est-ce que vont devenir les publications en format imprimé qui ne sont pas offertes en format électronique?

Nous reconnaissons que certaines publications ont été publiées en format imprimé seulement. Éditions et Services de dépôt supervise la numérisation d’une vaste collection de publications imprimées qui seront disponibles en format électronique sur notre site Web.

Où puis-je me procurer ou consulter des publications en format imprimé?

Certaines publications qui ont déjà été distribuées par notre programme peuvent encore être en circulation en format imprimé. Si vous souhaitez consulter ces publications, nous vous suggérons de vérifier auprès de votre librairie ou de votre bibliothèque. Le ministère auteur ou l’organisme peut peut-être vous aider à obtenir une copie imprimée. Veuillez consulter les Pages Web des publications des ministères ou organismes où vous pouvez choisir le nom du ministère et naviguer sur leur site Web.

Pourquoi la publication que j’ai trouvée dans votre catalogue n’est pas disponible en format électronique?

Éditions et Services de dépôt fait l’acquisition et catalogue les publications reçues dans tous les formats fournis par les ministères et organismes auteurs. Si une version électronique d’une publication en question nous a été fournie par le ministère auteur, il y aura un lien menant à la notice bibliographique de la publication. Cependant, il est important de noter que certaines publications ont été publiées en format imprimé seulement.

Est-ce qu’Éditions et Services de dépôt continuera de faire l’acquisition, le catalogage et de bonifier sa collection de publications électroniques du gouvernement du Canada?

Éditions et Services de dépôt est le dépôt central des publications du gouvernement du Canada en format électronique portable. Nous continuerons de faire l’acquisition, de cataloguer et de bonifier notre collection.

Est-ce qu’Éditions et Services de dépôt continuera de maintenir son catalogue de notices bibliographiques d’anciennes publications imprimées?

Les notices bibliographiques d’anciennes publications imprimées ainsi que des nouvelles seront maintenues dans notre catalogue à des fins de référence seulement.

Pourquoi je ne trouve pas la version électronique d’une publication que j’ai trouvée dans votre catalogue?

Les notices bibliographiques dans notre catalogue ne donnent pas accès à toutes les publications électroniques. Assurez-vous de vérifier si l’information donnée à côté l’étiquette «Format» mentionne une notice particulière pour une publication en format imprimé. Comme nous n’avons pas decollection physique de publications, ce catalogue de notices bibliographiques a été créé à titre de référence seulement. Si une version électronique d’une publication a été cataloguée, vous y aurez accès par un lien fourni à côté du titre «Autres formats».

Devrais-je informer Éditions et Services de dépôt si je trouve un lien brisé dans une publication électronique hébergée sur votre site Web?

Les publications trouvées dans le catalogue du gouvernement du Canada ont été archivées et rendues disponibles à titre de référence seulement. L’information identifiée comme étant archivée est fournie à titre de référence, pour la recherche ou pour la tenue de documents. Éditons et Services de dépôt ne modifie pas, ne met pas à jour ni ne change le contenu des publications hébergées et disponibles dans notre catalogue.