Statistics Canada - Statistique Canada

Standard Geographical Classification (SGC). Volume I. The Classification


The Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) is a system of names and codes representing areas of Canada. It consists of a three-tiered hierarchy - province or territory, census division, and census subdivision. This relationship is reflected in the seven-digit code. The SGC is used to identify information for particular geographical areas and to tabulate statistics. This volume is designed as a reference and coding manual. The classification volume contains tables of SGC units with their names and codes, related areas based upon the SGC and an alphabetical index of place names. It also summarizes all changes occurring between 1996 and 2001 that impact directly upon the SGC.

Click the title

File type
(PDF - 1784K)
(PDF - 334K)

Copyright © 2005-2006 Statistics Canada

Other Statistics Canada Publications | Send us your comments contact us