Statistics Canada - Statistique Canada

Standard Geographical Classification (SCG). Volume II. Reference Maps


The Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) is a system of names and codes representing areas of Canada. It consists of a three-tiered hierarchy - province or territory, census division, and census subdivision. This relationship is reflected in the seven-digit code. The SGC is used to identify information for particular geographical areas and to tabulate statistics. This volume provides a series of reference maps that show the boundaries, names, and SGC codes of all census divisions and census subdivisions in Canada, in effect on January 1, 2001. It also provides the names, codes and areal extent of census metropolitan areas, census agglomerations, and economic regions.

Click the
title to
File type

Copyright © 2006 Statistics Canada

Other Statistics Canada Publications | Send us your comments contact us