E

APPENDIX E

ROUNDTABLE PARTICIPANTS

Moncton Roundtable

August 31, 2005

Derek Burney, O.C., former Chief of Staff to Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, former Ambassador to the United States of America; currently Chairman of the Board of Directors, New Brunswick Power.

Spencer Campbell, former Chief of Staff to the Premier of Prince Edward Island; currently partner in the law firm Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales.

Honourable John C. Crosbie, O.C., former federal Cabinet Minister (Finance, Justice, Transport, International Trade, Fisheries and Oceans, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency); currently Chancellor of Memorial University of Newfoundland and Counsel with the law firm Patterson Palmer.

Pierre Foucher, Professor, Université de Moncton, School of Law, a specialist in constitutional law.

Paul Howe, former Research Director at the Institute for Research on Public Policy in Montreal; currently Professor of Political Science, University of New Brunswick and author.

Dean Jobb, former reporter, editor and columnist at the *Halifax Herald*; currently Professor at University of King's College School of Journalism.

Aldéa Landry, former Cabinet Minister (Regional Economic Development Fisheries, Housing) and Deputy Premier of New Brunswick and former public servant with the New Brunswick Department of Justice; currently President of Landal Inc.

Honourable Donald H. Oliver. Senator and Counsel with Power. Dempsey, Cooper & Leefe.

Wynne Potter, former Vice-President of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency in Nova Scotia; currently a member of the Board of Genome Atlantic, and an advisor to government officials and committees.

Gordon Slade, former Deputy Minister in the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador and former Vice President of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency; currently Executive Director of ONE OCEAN.

Jennifer Smith, Professor and Chair, Department of Political Science, Dalhousie University, a specialist in electoral politics, comparative federalism and constitutional issues.

Québec Roundtable

September 14, 2005

Denis Desautels, O.C., former Auditor General of Canada, and former senior partner with Ernst & Young; currently Executive-in-Residence at the School of Management of the University of Ottawa.

Alain Dubuc, former Editor-in-Chief of *La Presse* and former President and Publisher of *Le Soleil*; currently columnist for *La Presse* and *Le Soleil*.

Honourable Marc Lalonde, O.C., former federal Cabinet Minister (National Health and Welfare, Justice, Energy, Mines and Resources, Finance), former Principal Secretary to Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau; currently senior Counsel with the law firm of Stikeman Elliott in Montreal.

Vincent Lemieux, Professor Emeritus of Political Science at the Université Laval, a specialist in Canadian political parties and polling.

Marcel Proulx, Director General of l'École nationale d'administration publique, a specialist in the study of organizations and public administration.

F. Leslie Seidle, former Director General, Intergovernmental Affairs, Privy Council Office; currently Senior Research Associate at the Institute for Research on Public Policy and Senior Research Fellow for the Centre for Research and Information on Canada.

Honourable Paul Tellier, C.C., former Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet, former federal Deputy Minister, former President and CEO of both Bombardier Inc. and Canadian National Railway; currently Director of several Canadian companies.

Diane Wilhelmy, former Deputy Minister in the Quebec Government for Intergovernmental Affairs, former Delegate General in New York; currently a public administration consultant.

Toronto Roundtable

October 5, 2005

Honourable Jean-Jacques Blais, former federal Cabinet Minister (Postmaster General, Solicitor General, Supply and Services, National Defence); currently Counsel with Marusyk, Miller & Swain.

Patrick Boyer, former Member of Parliament (served as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of External Affairs and to the Minister of National Defence), journalist, lawyer, teacher and author.

Robert Giroux, former Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada, President of the Public Service Commission and federal Deputy Minister; currently Chair of the Canadian Council of Learning.

Arthur Kroeger, C.C., former federal Deputy Minister; former Chair of the Public Policy Forum; currently Chair of the Canadian Policy Research Networks.

Honourable Barbara McDougall, O.C., former federal Cabinet Minister (External Affairs, Employment and Immigration, Privatization and Regulatory Affairs), former President of the Canadian Institute of International Affairs; currently director of a number of Canadian corporations and an advisor with the law firm of Aird & Berlis.

Claire Morris, former Secretary to the Cabinet and Clerk of the Executive Council for the government of New Brunswick, former federal Deputy Minister; currently President and CEO of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada.

Honourable Gordon Osbaldeston, C.C., former Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet, former federal Deputy Minister; served on the Board of Directors of numerous Canadian companies.

Lorne Sossin, former Clerk to the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada; currently Associate Dean of Law, University of Toronto and a specialist in administrative and constitutional law.

Hugh Winsor, former Ottawa bureau chief for the Globe and Mail; currently a visiting fellow to the Institute of Policy Studies at Queen's University.

Edmonton Roundtable

October 19, 2005

Honourable Harvie André, former federal Cabinet Minister (Supply and Services, Consumer and Corporate Affairs), former Government House Leader; currently President of Cresvard Corporation and Chairman of Bow Energy Resources.

Barry Cooper, Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Calgary, a specialist in political theory and Canadian politics.

Gary Dickson, former member of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta; lawyer, currently Information and Privacy Commissioner for the province of Saskatchewan.

Rod Love, former Chief of Staff to Premier Ralph Klein, former member of the board of the Canada West Foundation; currently the principal of Calgary-based Rod Love Consulting Inc.

Robert Marleau, former Clerk of the House of Commons and former Senior Advisor to the Speaker of the House of Commons; a specialist on parliamentary practice and procedure.

Ian McClelland, a former Member of Parliament, former Assistant Deputy Speaker and Deputy Chair of Committees of the Whole House, former Member of the Alberta Legislative Assembly.

David Smith, Professor Emeritus of Political Science at the University of Saskatchewan, a specialist in the structure of government and federalism.

Vancouver Roundtable

October 20, 2005

Honourable Pat Carney, Senator, former federal Cabinet Minister (Energy, Mines and Resources, International Trade), former President of the Treasury Board.

R. Kenneth Carty, Professor and former Head of Political Science, University of British Columbia; a specialist in political parties and elections.

Honourable Herb Dhaliwal, former federal Cabinet Minister (Revenue Canada, Fisheries and Oceans, Natural Resources); businessman.

Gordon Gibson, former Leader of the Liberal Party of British Columbia, former Member of the B.C. Legislative Assembly; currently a Senior Fellow with the Fraser Institute in Vancouver.

David A. Good, former federal Assistant Deputy Minister; currently Professor and Director, Strategic Research at the School of Public Administration, University of Victoria.

Rafe Mair, former Minister (Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Health, Environment) in the Government of British Columbia; political commentator and author.

Cynthia Williams, former federal Assistant Deputy Minister; currently a Senior Fellow with the Canadian Policy Research Networks.